讀寫障礙到校服務

學生學習支援 | 家長講座 | 教師培訓

​最新課程

b66028_2543b773b2624cf1b7652f1a24d4dfe7_mv2

學習支援課程
( 中英數讀寫障礙支援課程 )

  • 中文基礎 101
  • 英語基礎 101
  • 數理樂無窮
  • 英語拼讀課程(拼音技巧)
  • 一對一的讀寫障礙支援服務(可提供網上課程)
b66028_b61f2b775194479a9fa548ad2214c177_mv2

治療課程

  • 言語治療
  • 音樂治療
  • 藝術治療
  • 社交小組
  • SENovate (專為SEN學生而設之軟技能訓練)
  • 專注力培訓
  • 執行能力和小手肌訓練

讀寫障礙家長支援講座|工作坊

  • 了解學障孩子的特殊學習需要
  • 學習技巧(按學科)
  • 「家中學習好好玩」
  • 「温習有技巧」
  • SEN兒童行為管理
  • 認識精神病
b66028_c36f97b1ba364ea1bb23fa8594af2b40_mv2

專業發展培訓︱講座
(適合在職教師)

  • 認識學習障礙
  • SEN教學策略(按學科)
  • 了解SEN學生的需要
  • 管理行為技巧

關於我們讀寫障礙到校及家長支援服務 - 常見問題:

在香港,有些學校會在課後提供補課班,以支援有學障的學生。有些學校更會為學生提供額外的讀寫障礙支援。然而,這些學習支援一般會由校內的教師負責,而他們提供的額外練習未必能夠針對個別學生的學習需要,因此,儘管學生參加了額外的補課班,但仍然難以獨立完成日常的功課任務。我們相信,讀寫障礙家長要真正能夠幫助學生,必須先找出他們最底層所面對的困難,才能協助他們鞏固在每個學科上的基礎,讓他們自行應用所學到的學習技巧。

 博雅思在香港提供的學習支援以及讀寫障礙到校服務有別於其他補課班。我們在幫助孩子建立不同學習概念之前,會先鞏固他們的基礎。首先,我們會了解孩子在學習上的需要,從而製定出孩子需要達到的學習目標。在教授新知識時,我們會為孩子們展示他們需要學習其知識的整個概念。通過這種方式,他們能夠知道在整個學習過程中,自己需要多少步驟才能掌握整個概念。我們不鼓勵操練學生,而是教授他們學習的技巧,讓他們通過體驗的方法去學習。我們的學習支援課程包含不同遊戲和活動,以幫助孩子投入參與課程,並加強他們對所學概念的理解。我們希望,幫助孩子建立有效的學習技巧,能夠讓他們獨立自主地學習。

有特殊教育需要的學生經常在學習上遇到很多困難。這些學生通常難以追趕學校的課程進度,並且經常在課堂上表現不佳。校內通常會提供讀寫障礙支援服務,並因應學生的學習情況作出特別的學習支援或者安排。部分學校已成立學生支援小組(SST),協助觀察有學障學生的學習進度,幫助他們製定學習目標,並提供讀寫障礙支援計劃,以配合學生的學習需要。

 很多有特殊教育需要的學生正在主流學校修讀,學校可以因應情況,在教材和學習目標上作出不同的調整,幫助有需要的學生在學習上有更好的表現。在課堂學習支援方面,學校會按照三個等級分類,透過分類,學校能夠為有需要的學生提供合適的讀寫障礙支援。對於需要第一級學習支援的學生,教師可以使用更廣泛的教學資源來協助學生理解課堂上所涵蓋的概念。教師可以調整評估及作業模式,以配合有需要的的學生。而需要第二級學習支援的學生,學校會開設補課班或小型學習小組,讓教師可以特別關注學生的需要。而第三級學習支援是針對需要個別指導的學生,這種級別的支援會需要相關專業人士的參與,協助製定可以在課堂環境中實施的行為管理和計劃。學生亦會被邀請參加小組訓練課程,科任老師會提供該學科的學習支援,以加強學生對學科概念的理解。

 除課程安排外,學校亦可透過調整評估方式及內容,為學生提供讀寫障礙支援。學生可以通過口頭問答或專題報告方式展示他們的知識。考試也可以作出特別的安排,例如調整試卷的難度和試卷的設計,以便他們閱讀。學校亦可以提供額外的時間,讓有需要的學生有足夠時間答題和表達他們的想法。

 香港的學校不僅重視對有學習障礙學生在學術上的學習支援,也重視他們的社交發展。學校會定期舉辦不同的課外活動,讓學生發展他們的強項從而建立自信心。除了通過這些活動發掘他們的潛力和優點外,他們還可以學習社交技巧以及與他人相處時的溝通技巧。

雖然,香港的學校會提供讀寫障礙支援服務,但家長的支援對孩子的成長同樣重要。家長應該積極與學校溝通,以便為孩子提供與學校一致的學習支援。

 在博雅思,我們亦有提供讀寫障礙家長支援服務。我們的中心會定期舉辦家長培訓講座,讓家長了解孩子的特殊教育需要。做功課是孩子有讀寫障礙家長經常面臨的挑戰之一。我們通常會建議父母先了解孩子的實際學習能力和需要,然後,父母可以因應孩子的能力去訂立每項功課任務的目標。通過評估每項任務的難度,他們可以因應孩子的程度,讓他們自行完成任務,並決定他們應該在哪一個步驟上可以介入並提供學習支援。對於困難的任務,父母應該將它們分拆成更小的步驟,以確保孩子能夠一步一步地完成。

 除了功課指導,學生有讀寫障礙家長們表示難以找到合適的方法來幫助他們的孩子温習。事實上,有學障的孩子經常難以組織他們腦海中所學到的知識,使得他們在運用和提取已學過的知識變得更加困難。因此,家長應先展示需要復習該主題的全概念(overview),讓孩子可以更有效地連繫不同概念之間的關係。當深入探討每個主題時,家長首先要了解孩子已經掌握的知識,以及需要鞏固的概念。我們舉辦的讀寫障礙家長培訓,亦會分享不同的學習策略,讓家長能夠幫助孩子更有效地學習,例如使用圖像或肢體動作的技巧來拼寫單詞。

 博雅思的讀寫障礙家長支援也會提供一系列的培訓,更有效地支援孩子們的特殊學習需要,例如會教授如何分析孩子的學習需要、如何處理行為問題,以及如何與有學習障礙的孩子溝通等。通過這些培訓,我們希望能夠增強讀寫障礙家長在支援孩子學習上的能力,使他們更有效地在家中幫助自己的孩子。

博雅思已為香港多間學校提供家長支援及讀寫障礙到校服務,以幫助有學障學生的家長。我們的服務不僅限於學校,我們更於不同的公共或私營機構提供讀寫障礙家長支援。我們提供的家長支援涵蓋了一系列主題,例如,功課輔導、温習技巧和行為問題,以切合家長的需要。

 在博雅思,我們還會在中心定期舉辦讀寫障礙家長支援,主題涵蓋了家長不同的需要,例如分析兒童學習需求、行為問題和親子溝通。我們的家長支援服務深得廣泛認受,強調對讀寫障礙學生進行任何支援之前,最重要的是教育父母如何識別孩子的學習需求,找到每個有特殊教育需要的學生在學習中潛在的問題,是父母必須具備的能力,以幫助孩子克服障礙。我們的讀寫障礙支援服務還教授不同的學習技巧,協助家長幫助有需要的孩子更有效地學習,例如,使用圖像的方法或在詞彙中抽取一些細字來記住如何拼寫新詞彙。家長還可以學習訓練孩子的組織能力、如何設定學習目標和獎勵制度等方法。在日常生活中,學生有讀寫障礙家長需要面對的問題中最具挑戰性的可能是行為問題,因此行為管理也是我們認為極重要的課題。我們教導家長在採取任何行動之前,應先找出孩子每個行為背後的根本原因。我們相信每個孩子的行為背後都反映出他們的需要,透過我們的支援及培訓,父母會學懂了解孩子的需要,並作出合適的學習支援。

 我們的讀寫障礙支援服務主要是以面對面的形式進行,以促進溝通和討論,但我們目前亦有提供網上讀寫障礙家長支援服務。我們進行的網上支援富互動性,我們亦鼓勵家長踴躍表達意見或提出疑問。此外,我們的網上培訓更可以容納更多家長,能夠為更多有特殊教育需要孩子的家庭服務。

在香港,讀寫障礙是常見的特殊教育需要。香港大約有十分之一的學生被診斷患有這種學障。由於情況非常普遍,因此教師更需要受有關讀寫障礙支援的培訓,以提高他們對特殊教育需要的認知。

 學障學生的學習方式與一般學生不同。有讀寫障礙的學生在語言學習方面會出現困難。他們的讀寫能力比較弱,尤其是在閱讀和寫作方面。例如,一個有這種學障的學生可能常常出現讀錯字或在拼寫字時有字母順序顛倒的情況等。這類學生對字詞的閱讀方式亦不同,這使得他們在閱讀和寫作上變得非常困難。因此,學生需要依靠其他的學習方法來幫助他們。

 在博雅思,我們會鼓勵學障學生使用圖像或肢體動作來幫助自己學習單詞拼寫或中文字筆劃的位置,避免死記硬背地傳統學習方法。除了語言上有學習困難外,還會影響執行功能、組織能力和記憶力。因此,患有這種障礙的學生難以理解和抽取課堂上已學的內容,因為他們未能把所學到的知識有系統地構建在腦海中。儘管不斷重複教學和練習,學生可能還是難以理解課程內容。因此,學生需要不同的教學方法或者讀寫障礙支援來幫助他們組織概念,以提高他們的學習動機。

 博雅思的讀寫障礙到校課程強調在教援新概念時,必須先向學生展示他們需要學習的主題概要(overview),使他們能夠清楚自己的學習進度並組織所學到的知識。其實,沒有特殊教育需要的學生也可能在學習上有不同程度的需要。在主流學校,教師往往採用操練的方法去幫助學生釐清概念。由於學生的基礎並不穩固,加上反復的練習並未增强他們對於課題的理解,導致學生難以學習更複雜的概念。博雅思認為,我們必須先鞏固每個學科的根基,然後在這個根基上逐步建立更複雜的概念。因此,我們的培訓可以讓教師學會辨別不同學生的學習需要,不僅有利於有學習障礙的學生之學習需要,也有利於在教授有其他困難的學生時作出適當的學習支援。

有些坊間機構提供的培訓,通常會介紹不同類型特殊學習需要的特徵及需要。培訓內容會包括一些幫助普遍學習較弱的學生的教學策略,以及於課堂上、課後及在家中可以實施的學習支援。雖然這些培訓可以幫助教師更有效地認識和了解不同學習需要學生的學習需要,但若教師只接受了有關如何運用不同方法的培訓,而未能掌握如何識別在學習上有困難的學生的學習需要,這些支援措施的成效亦有限。

博雅思相信,如果孩子們不能按照我們教導的方式學習,我們就按照他們學習的方式進行教學。學障孩子的學習方式各有不同,因此我們應根據個別學生的需要,調整我們的教學方法,以便他們更有效地學習。博雅思會訓練導師,在為每一個孩子們提供任何學習支援之前,先了解他們學習上的需要。我們提供的讀寫障礙到校教師培訓也教授教師不同的教學技巧,以滿足有需要兒童的學習需要。我們希望導師在教學時,能夠辨別每個孩子的能力和學習需要,再為他們定立學校目標,提供學習方法,以提高他們的學習水平和能力。一般坊間使用額外的操練方法,並鼓勵教師通過額外的練習來協助學障孩子鞏固不同概念。而在博雅思,我們鼓勵教師通過遊戲和實踐活動進行教學,我們相信,學生在親身體驗的過程中會學習得更好,而不是重複操練。

除了讀寫障礙家長支援以外,博雅思亦曾受邀到香港多所學校提供讀寫障礙到校教師培訓課程,包括不同的主題,例如,如何辨識有特殊教育需要學生的學習需要、教學技巧和行為管理等。主流學校的教師有時難以在課堂環境中照顧有學障的學生,因此,我們所分享的讀寫障礙支援及技巧會利用學生的長處去幫助他們更有效地學習。除了學習方法之外,我們還會訓練教師透過從學生的功課表現來觀察及識別他們的學習需要,然後再決定他們的介入點,並提供合適的學習支援。

 同時,教師應該能夠將每個要教授的概念分拆為較小的學習步驟,使學生能夠更容易地完成他們的學習目標,增加他們對學習的滿足感。行為管理對教師來說是很具挑戰性的一環,所以我們的讀寫障礙到校教師培訓課程亦有訓練教師了解常見的學生課堂行為背後的原因。我們認為,學生表現出的每一個行為,背後都必定有一個原因,關鍵是我們是否有進一步深入去了解並關注每個學生的需要。我們在訓練中所分享的方法和技巧是實用並適用於主流課程。

我們全年都能提供專業培訓服務,有興趣的學校或機構可以電郵或致電與我們聯絡。

如需要我們的服務,請填寫以下資料或發電郵給我們。

    參與學校:

    香港仔浸信會白光幼稚園
    愛秩序灣官立小學
    佛教沈香林紀念中學
    中華基督教會基法小學(油塘)
    嘉諾撒小學
    嘉諾撒學校(香港)
    明愛馬鞍山中學
    中華基督教會全完第二小學
    陳樹渠紀念中學
    路德會協同中學
    香港中文大學校友會聯會陳震夏中學
    拔萃男書院(小學部)
    基督教中國佈道會恩恩創意幼稚園
    教育局資優教育組
    香港教育大學
    英基學校協會
    粉嶺官立中學
    五邑司徒浩中學(藍田)
    鳳溪第一中學
    港九街坊婦女會孫方中書院
    香港大學融合與特殊教育研究發展中心
    港大同學會小學
    嘉諾撒聖家學校(九龍塘
    裘錦秋中學(元朗)
    沙田蘇浙公學
    景林天主教小學
    英皇書院同學會小學

    嶺南大學持續進修學院
    樂道中學
    世界龍崗學校劉皇發中學
    路德會呂明才中學
    馬鞍山循道衛理小學
    馬鞍山崇真中學
    澳門聖公會學院(澳門)
    妙法寺劉金龍中學
    循道學校
    五旬節中學
    五旬節聖潔會永光書院
    博愛醫院陳國威小學
    香港培道中學
    嘉諾撒培德學校
    伊利沙伯中學舊生會小學分校
    鄉師自然學校
    聖公會奉基小學
    聖公會呂明才中學
    聖公會聖紀文小學
    聖公會陳融中學
    聖公會李炳中學
    嘉諾撒聖心學校
    嘉諾撒聖心學校(私立部)
    新加玻國際學校(香港)
    聖保祿中學
    聖貞德中學
    東華三院呂潤財紀念中學
    田家炳中學

School Programmes

Student Support | Parents’ Workshop | Professional Development All programs are run by registered therapists or social workers, and instructors trained in Boaz.

Available Now

b66028_2543b773b2624cf1b7652f1a24d4dfe7_mv2

On-Site Learning Support Hong Kong Programme (Available Online)

(Chinese, English and Maths Learning Support)
  • Chinese Foundation 101
  • English Foundation 101
  • Mathematics Foundation 101
  • Spell to Read – English phonics program
  • One-to-one Dyslexia Learning Support in Hong Kong
b66028_b61f2b775194479a9fa548ad2214c177_mv2

Therapeutic Programs

(Particularly designed for dyslexia children)
  • Speech Therapy
  • Music Therapy
  • Art Therapy
  • Social Program
  • SENovate (Talent-development for SEN students)
  • Attention Training
  • Executive-functioning Skills & Fine-motor Skills Training

Parents’ Workshop
(Dyslexia Training for Hong Kong Parents)

  • Understanding the Special Learning Needs of Your Child
  • Learning Strategies (by subjects)
  • Fun Learning at Home
  • Revision Skills for Your Child
  • Behavioural Management
  • Understanding Mental Illness
b66028_c36f97b1ba364ea1bb23fa8594af2b40_mv2

Professional Development

(Dyslexia Training for Hong Kong Teachers)
  • Understanding the learning disorder
  • Teaching Learning Strategies for SEN (by subjects)
  • Understanding SEN support for Hong Kong students
  • Managing SEN behaviours

 

About our Dyslexia Learning Support & Training for Hong Kong Teachers/Parents - FAQs:

Schools in Hong Kong often would offer remedial classes after school to support students who struggle in learning. Some schools also provide extra learning support for Hong Kong students with specific learning obstacles. However, these SEN support in Hong Kong are often run by school teachers that may not have received any professional dyslexia teacher training in Hong Kong to support students with such learning disorders. The teachers would help students consolidate their learning concepts by giving them drilling tasks such as extra worksheets and practice paper. The learning materials or teaching are not modified to accommodate the child’s actual ability nor learning needs. Despite taking remedial classes, students in these typical learning support Hong Kong programmes would continue to show difficulty in completing these tasks individually as their underlying difficulties have been overlooked. We believe that in order for the child to master a concept, their basic foundation of the subject must first be consolidated before applying the learnt skills on their own.

The learning support in Hong Kong that Boaz provides is different from the after school remedial classes. We help our children to consolidate their foundation before building up to more high level skills and concepts. Finding the learning needs of the child is always our first priority in teaching. We need to be able to know what the child is unable to do before identifying how many learning steps the child needs to achieve in order to reach their learning goal. When teaching a new topic, we always provide our children an overview of the concepts they need to learn. In this way, they know how many steps they need to achieve throughout the learning process in order to master the concept. We don’t drill our children but rather, we teach them strategies to learn and enable them to learn through experience. Our SEN support in Hong Kong consists of lessons with games and activities to help the child to understand a concept and engage in the lesson. We hope that by equipping our children with the learning skills, they are capable of learning independently.

Students with learning disorders often struggle academically. It is common that these students have difficulty catching up on the school’s curriculum and would often perform poorly in class. Schools would often provide SEN support in Hong Kong and make certain arrangements having regard to the students’ learning conditions. Some schools have set up a Student Support Team (SST) to help monitor the learning progress of SEN students and draw up learning objectives as well as providing SEN support Hong Kong programmes to accommodate the learning needs of SEN children. 

As many SEN students are taking the mainstream curriculum, schools can make different accommodations in terms of the teaching materials and learning objectives to help children with learning obstacles to make better progress in learning. In terms of support in class, schools would provide learning support to Hong Kong SEN students in accordance with the 3-Tier support model. For students who need Tier-1 support, teachers may employ a wider variety of teaching resources to help improve the students’ understanding of the concepts covered in class. Teachers can adjust the mode of assessment and assignments to accommodate the needs of students that require SEN support in Hong Kong. Whereas students who need additional support may adopt the Tier-2 learning support in Hong Kong. Schools would set up remedial classes after school or small learning groups for students with similar learning needs to enable teachers to be more attentive to the needs of SEN students. For students who need intensive individualised support would require Tier-3 support. This level of support would involve relevant professionals or those that have received dyslexia teacher training in Hong Kong with to draw out behavioural management and learning plans that can be implemented in classroom settings. Students would be invited to group training sessions for intensive learning support delivered by subject teachers. 

Apart from curriculum accommodations, the school can also give learning support to Hong Kong students by making adjustments to the mode and content of the assessments. Students may be allowed to display their knowledge through oral questioning or projects. For exams, special arrangements can be made, such as adjusting the level of difficulty of the test paper and the layout of the exam for better reading. Extra time can also be provided to enable students that require SEN support in Hong Kong to have sufficient time to show their knowledge and express their ideas.  

Schools not only emphasise on academic SEN support for Hong Kong students but also, support on social development. Schools would hold extra-curricular activity classes for students to develop their strengths and build their confidence. Apart from exploring their potential through these activities, they can learn social skills as well as communication skills when getting along with others.

Although schools would provide SEN support in Hong Kong, the support from parents at home is equally important to the growth of children with dyslexia. Parents are encouraged to proactively engage in the communication with the school so as to provide appropriate learning support for the child that is in line with the interventions implemented in school. 

In Boaz, we also provide support for parents of children with dyslexia. We have regular dyslexia parent training in Hong Kong to provide an insight to parents of the needs of SEN children. Homework assistance is one of the challenging issues that parents of SEN children face. We often would advise parents to first understand the actual ability and needs of their child. Parents could then think about the purpose of each task and what the child is expected to do. By assessing the difficulty of each task, they can determine to what extent the child can manage the task on their own and decide where they should intervene. For more difficult tasks, parents should break them down to smaller achievable steps to ensure that the child can complete the task. 

Apart from homework, parents often struggle to find the right way to help their child to do revision. Dyslexia children often have difficulty structuring the knowledge they learn in their mind and concepts are scattered which makes retrieval of the knowledge extra hard. Therefore, it is important that the parent can first provide an overview of the topics that need to be revised. By giving children with dyslexia the big picture, they can have a better understanding of the linkage between concepts. When revising each topic in depth, the parent should first understand the prior knowledge of the child and what concepts need to be consolidated. 

Our dyslexia parent training in Hong Kong shares different learning strategies to parents that enable them to help their child with such a disorder to learn more effectively such as using pictures or body movements to spell words. Boaz’s dyslexia parent training in Hong Kong also offers a range of topics for parents to better support their SEN child, like how to analyse children’s learning needs, how to deal with behavioural issues and communicate with children with learning obstacles. Through such dyslexia parent training in Hong Kong, we hope to empower parents of dyslexic children to better support them at home.

Boaz has provided dyslexia parent training in Hong Kong to many schools to help parents of children with learning disabilities yet, our service is not only limited to schools. We also deliver dyslexia parent training in Hong Kong to many public or private sectors such as NGOs. The dyslexia parent training in Hong Kong that we offer covers a range of topics like homework guidance, revision skills and behavioural issues that suit the needs of parents of children with learning disorders. 

In Boaz, we also offer regular dyslexia parent training at our Hong Kong centre. We cover different topics that cater for the needs of parents of children with dyslexia such as needs analysis, behavioural issues, and parent-child communication. One of the reasons why our specific training stands out from other dyslexia parent training in Hong Kong is that we believe that it is important to educate parents how to identify the learning needs of their child before providing any intervention to their children with dyslexia. The ability to find each dyslexic child’s underlying problem in learning is the first step that parents must acquire in order to help their child overcome learning obstacles. 

Our dyslexia parent training also involves different learning strategies that parents can help dyslexic children to learn better such as using picture cues or small words to memorise how to spell a new vocabulary. Parents can also pick up skills such as how to train dyslexic children’s organisational skills, setting learning goals and reward systems. Behavioural problems can be a challenging issue in everyday life of parents of children with learning disorders and so, behavioural management is also an important topic in our dyslexia parents training in Hong Kong. We teach parents how to identify the underlying cause of their behaviour before taking any further action. We believe that there is always a need behind every child’s behaviour, and it is important that parents can acknowledge and respond to that need through adequate learning support in Hong Kong.

Our training is mostly delivered face-to-face to facilitate communication and discussion however, we currently offer online dyslexia parents training. Our online dyslexia parents training in Hong Kong are interactive and engaging as we often encourage parents to express opinions or concerns openly to facilitate discussion. Moreover, our online training can accommodate a larger capacity of parents and be able to serve more parents of SEN children.

Dyslexia is a common learning difficulty among students. One out of ten students in class are diagnosed with it. Since the prevalence rate of this condition is high, there is a higher need for relevant dyslexia teacher training in Hong Kong to enhance their awareness of the learning needs of such children. 

The way that children with this type of disorder learn is different from children without it. Dyslexic children consistently show difficulty in language learning. They have poorer literacy skills especially in reading and writing. As an example, a typical dyslexic child may exhibit behaviours like mispronouncing words or reverse order of letters when spelling. Children with dyslexia perceive words differently which made it extremely difficult and needed extra effort to read and write. As a result, dyslexic children need to rely on SEN support in Hong Kong or other learning approaches to help them to learn.

 In Boaz, our dyslexia teacher training in Hong Kong developed spelling strategies like picture spelling to encourage children with dyslexia to use pictures to help them learn the spelling of words or the position of strokes for Chinese characters instead of learning words by rote. Apart from difficulty in learning language, dyslexia can also affect executive functioning, organisational skills and memory. Therefore, children with dyslexia have difficulty understanding and retrieving concepts taught in class as the knowledge they have learnt are unstructured and scattered in their mind. Despite repetitive teaching and drilling, children with dyslexia may continue to struggle comprehending the lesson materials and therefore, a different teaching approach is needed to help such students organise the concepts to enhance their learning motivation.

 The dyslexia teacher training in Boaz emphasises the importance of presenting to our students the overview of the topic they need to learn so as to enable them to keep track of their learning and help them structure the learnt concepts. Not only children with dyslexia but also, students without learning obstacles may also struggle in learning. In mainstream schools, teachers often adopt the drilling method to help students consolidate the concepts. However, the foundation of the topic is still unclear to the students and so, they find it difficult to move up to acquire more advanced concepts. Boaz believes that the basic foundation of a topic must first be consolidated and gradually build up to higher level concepts based on that foundation. Therefore, we believe that by offering dyslexia teacher training in Hong Kong to use a more differentiated teaching approach does not solely benefit children of dyslexia but also, children who struggle in learning as well.

The dyslexia teacher training in Hong Kong provided from other sectors usually provides an overview and background of different types of children with diverse learning needs. It also involves teaching strategies and how to implement accommodations in terms of classroom settings, homework and assessment. Although these trainings can help teachers gain a better understanding and awareness of the needs of children with diverse learning needs, the effectiveness of these interventions is limited as teachers are only trained to implement interventions but not the skills to identify the underlying learning needs of children with learning disorders. 

Boaz believes that if children do not learn the way we teach, we teach the way they learn. Children with dyslexia learn differently and so, the learning approach and learning support in Hong Kong should be adapted to their needs in order for them to succeed. In Boaz, we insist on training our teachers to look for the needs of the children before providing any learning interventions to the children. The dyslexia teacher training in Hong Kong that we provide also provides teachers with different learning strategies that cater for the learning needs of dyslexic children. We expect our teachers to be able to differentiate the ability and needs of each child when teaching, and equip them with the learning skills to improve their learning. Some teacher training offers outside emphasis on the drilling method and would encourage teachers to consolidate concepts in children with dyslexia by giving extra homework or practice papers. Whereas in Boaz, we encourage our teachers to teach through games and hands-on activities as we believe that students learn better when they are able to experience instead of repetitive drilling on work tasks.  

 

Boaz has been invited to many schools to deliver dyslexia teacher training Hong Kong programs. Our training consists of different topics like how to analyse the learning needs of children with learning disorders, teaching strategies and behavioural management.

Teachers in mainstream schools often struggle in accommodating students with dyslexia in the classroom setting and so, we would share strategies that make use of the students’ strength to help them learn more effectively. Besides strategies, we train teachers to learn to identify students’ learning needs through their presenting work before determining where their intervention point should be. Teachers should also be able to break down concepts into smaller achievable steps for students that enable them to attain the expected goal. Behavioural management is a challenging aspect for teachers and so, our teacher training provides an insight to teachers of the reasons behind common students’ behaviours in class. We believe that there must be a cause for every behaviour the students exhibit and the key is to delve further into the cause and be attentive to the needs of the student. The methods and skills we share in our training are down-to-earth and applicable to the mainstream curriculum.

Our teacher training services are available all year round. Feel free to send us your interested topics and information. Our friendly staff will get in touch with you shortly.

Leave us a message below or email us for more information.





    Participated Schools:

    Aberdeen Baptist Church Pak Kwong Kindergarten
    Aldrich Bay Government Primary School
    Buddhist Sum Heung Lam Memorial College
    C.C.C. Kei Faat Primary School (Yau Tong)
    Canossa Primary School
    Canossa School (Hong Kong)
    Caritas Ma On Shan Sec.School
    CCC Chuen Yuen Second Primary School
    Chan Shu Kui Memorial School
    Concordia Lutheran School
    CUHKFAA Chan Chun Ha Secondary School
    Diocesan Boys’ School Primary Division
    ECFB Creativity Kindergarten
    Education Bureau – Gifted Section
    The Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK)
    English Schools Foundation
    Fanling Government Secondary School
    FDBWA Szeto Ho Secondary School
    Fung Kai No.1 Secondary School
    HK & KLN Kaifong Women’s Association Sun Fong Chung College
    HKU The Centre for Advancement in Inclusive and Special Education (CAISE)
    HKUGA Primary School
    Holy Family Canossian School (Kowloon Tong)
    Ju Ching Chu Secondary School (Yuen Long)
    Kiangsu-Chekiang College (Shatin)
    King Lam Catholic Primary School
    King’s College Old Boys’ Association Primary School

    Lingnan Institute of Further Education (LIFE)
    Lock Tao Secondary School
    Long Kong World Federation School Ltd. Lau Wong Fat Secondary School
    Lui Ming Choi Lutheran College
    Ma On Shan Methodist Primary School
    Ma On Shan Tsung Tsin Secondary School
    Macau Anglican College (Macau)
    Madam Lau Kam Lung Secondary School of Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery
    Methodist School
    Pentacoastal School
    PHC Wing Kwong College
    Pok Oi Hospital Chan Kwok Wai Primary School
    Pooi To Middle School
    Pui Tak Canossian Primary School
    Q.E.S. Old Students’ Association Branch Primary School
    RTC GAIA School
    S.K.H. Fung Kei Primary School
    S.K.H. Lui Ming Choi Secondary School
    S.K.H. St. Clement’s Primary School
    S.K.H. Chan Young Secondary School
    S.K.H. Li Ping Secondary School
    Sacred Heart Canossian School
    Sacred Heart Canossian School (Private Section)
    Singapore International School (Hong Kong)
    St Paul Secondary School
    St. Joan of Arc Secondary School
    T.W.G.Hs Lui Yun Choy Memorial College
    Tin Ka Ping Secondary School
    Etc.