我們的讀寫障礙訓練中心相信

「只有不合適的教學方法,沒有不受教的兒童。」

我們讀寫障礙治療與其他中心的不同

親身經歷

創辦人陳卓琪小姐親身經歷讀寫障礙,十分了解有學習障礙的學生,並能夠掌握他們的學習需要。

學習策略

我們運用一系列創新及有系統的讀寫訓練策略,並不主張如讀寫障礙補習中的操練,務求讓學生建立屬於自己的讀寫障礙學習方法,有效地學習。

專業讀寫障礙訓練課程

我們的讀寫障礙訓練方法專為有需要學生而設,能夠針對每位孩子的學習需要而調適。單元有系統地整合之外,亦獲得學校認同為有效的讀寫障礙解決方法,並能夠融入校方課程中。

教學方針

與讀寫障礙功課輔導的模式不同,我們希望於 1.5 – 2 年的關鍵階段裏,幫助需要讀寫障礙治療的學生建立並穩固基礎,從而透過合適的讀寫訓練,成為自主的學習者。

0
讀寫訓練學生
0
提供學校課程
0
培訓教育治療師
0
培訓教師
0
培訓家長及老師

讀寫障礙學生家長及學校的話

5b152729b477433e98634d17828f32be_mv2
學生課程
一對一的學習支援、治療服務和才能發展課程。
學生課程
一對一的學習支援、治療服務和才能發展課程。
學生課程
一對一的學習支援、治療服務和才能發展課程。
學生課程
一對一的學習支援、治療服務和才能發展課程。

我們的獎項

星展基金會社會企業獎助金計畫 2019 獲獎者
滙豐青年創業大獎 2016 - 金獎
Advisory & Grant Making for 4 Social Enterprises - First Prize (香港科技大學) 2019
優質顧客服務大獎 2016 (香港優質顧客服務協會)
十大優質顧客服務大獎 2017 (香港優質顧客服務協會)
創意創業傑出大賞 2017 (城市青年商會)
年度愛心教育獎 01社區年度感動人物 2016 (香港01)
We like Hong Kong 努力有明天頒獎典禮 - 最具企業責任獎
創業日 - 傑出創業項目 2016 (香港青年協會及香港貿發局)
全港時尚專業女性 2017 (城市女青年商會)

合辦及協辦機構 / 贊助商:

常見問題:

讀寫障礙是香港常見的一種學習障礙,每十個孩子當中就有一個被診斷為讀寫障礙。研究證實,有學習困難的人主要是由於工作記憶能力低下,愈來愈多證據顯示遺傳因素是主要導致讀寫障礙的原因。大多數這類孩子在閱讀及寫作方面的表現未如理想。部分有讀寫障礙的孩子也會出現與數字、計算相關的困難。有些孩子除了有讀寫障礙外,亦會同時出現多種特殊困難,進一步增加了學生的學習障礙。同時,由於藥物不是有效的讀寫障礙解決方法,所以他們需要針對性的支援以及接受讀寫訓練來改善情況。

讀寫障礙學生在計劃和組織能力方面表現遜色。與同齡學生相比,他們在學習上需下更大苦功,但往往成績依然未如理想,從而削弱了他們學習的動機和專注力。如果想改善情況,就需要採用一套針對性的讀寫障礙學習方法。因此,主流學校和家庭通常會尋求讀寫障礙功課輔導班來幫助孩子提高學習成績。香港的讀寫障礙補習班旨在專注於幫助有需要的學生,多數是以提供工作紙或功課輔導作為讀寫障礙訓練方法,希望透過不斷操練,幫助學生趕上學校課堂的學習進度。很多父母都希望透過讀寫障礙功課輔導可以幫助孩子在短時間內提高成績,可是反覆操練並不是合適的讀寫訓練,所以不是一套適合他們的讀寫障礙訓練方法。除此之外,這些讀寫障礙補習班也往往未能讓孩子在學習上有明顯的改善。事實上,這類讀寫障礙功課輔導是會忽視了學生的學習需要,所以成效通常未如理想。

縱然讀寫障礙是遺傳性,且在現階段使用藥物並不是一種有效的讀寫障礙解決方法,但博雅思相信,通過在香港為學生提供讀寫障礙治療,可以幫助他們成長之餘,亦提高他們的學習能力和生活質素。我們會根據每個學生的個人需要提供專屬的讀寫障礙訓練,而並非像一般坊間的讀寫障礙補習,只重複練習。在我們提供讀寫障礙學習方法前,會先詳細瞭解孩子個人的學習方法及困難。然後為每個孩子提供度身訂造的讀寫障礙訓練方法,確保他們能夠獲得符合自身需要的讀寫訓練、學習策略與技巧,從而增強他們自主學習的能力。

因此,我們為學生設計了一系列針對性的讀寫障礙學習方法及課堂。我們的中心與其他不同,所強調的是讀寫障礙訓練,而不是一般的讀寫障礙功課輔導,因為我們相信只有不合適的教學方法,沒有不受教的兒童。我們希望通過教授他們讀寫障礙學習方法的技巧,讓學生們能夠茁壯成長,成為自主學習者。

 讀寫障礙是源自遺傳基因,而目前尚無藥物可治療。現時,患有的學生在香港佔9.7%至12.6%。

在香港,學校的讀寫障礙治療主要由特殊教育老師、專業治療師和教育心理學家等合資格專業人士以及其他非牟利組織提供。香港坊間的讀寫障礙治療以及讀寫障礙補習班,通常包括提供密集式的增潤班或額外的功課輔導班,而這種讀寫障礙訓練方法是希望幫助有需要的學生提高他們的讀寫能力。然而,雖然他們接受了讀寫障礙功課輔導,但由於並未從根本上解決他們的學習需要。因此,雖然有了讀寫障礙補習,在學習上他們仍然會遇到不少困難。

儘管讀寫障礙是一種遺傳性障礙,而且暫時藥物治療並非是有效的讀寫障礙解決方法,但博雅思認為,患有這種障礙的學生可以通過接受有效的讀寫障礙治療得到改善。我們參考了Davis Dyslexia Program和Orton-Gillingham Approach (OG Approach) 的方法,設計了一個專為香港學生而設的讀寫障礙治療課程,可以滿足香港有需要學生的學習需要。我們為學生度身訂造的讀寫障礙訓練,不僅限於只教授他們讀寫障礙學習方法,或者是只為了滿足功課和考試需要,更專注於學生的全人發展,有別於坊間其他主流讀寫障礙功課輔導或者補習中心。我們讀寫訓練的目標是運用讀寫障礙訓練方法去教授學生不同的學習技巧,並引導他們將技巧應用到自己的學習中,使他們成為自主學習者。

我們所設計的讀寫障礙訓練結合了三種不同的讀寫障礙學習方法,分別是 — 視覺、聽覺及動覺。其中,視覺元素是我們在學生讀寫訓練中常用的元素之一。例如,如果學生在書寫時出現鏡像的情況,例如把“b”和“d”對調了。我們的讀寫訓練不只是重複學習區分字母,而是將這些字母轉化成圖像或使用手勢來提高他們識別鏡像字母之間差異的能力,並成為有效的讀寫障礙解決方法。除了學習字詞,我們的讀寫障礙訓練方法還將圖像化策略應用於更複雜的概念,幫助受讀寫障礙困擾的學生學習。例如,當我們教授英文的代名詞概念時,學生通常很難區分不同的代名詞類別(例如:he及him)。我們不是像讀寫障礙補習中以死記硬背的方式教授這些概念,而是會先引導學生理解兩種代名詞與動詞的關係,然後使用圖像提示來分辨這兩種代名詞相對於動詞的位置。除了視覺元素外,我們在讀寫訓練中還鼓勵學生通過遊戲及動手來學習。我們相信,當學生能夠親身體驗時,他們會學得更有效。我們不會像讀寫障礙補習班只顧操練學生,而是採用一套更適合他們的讀寫障礙學習方法,例如運用桌上遊戲、繪畫,甚至用粘土。在我們所設計的讀寫障礙訓練中,最為關鍵的是每當我們的學生學習時,必須向他們展示他們將要學習的主題的整個概覽。通過這種讀寫障礙訓練方法,學生們可以依照自己的學習進度分辨自己已經掌握的和尚未掌握的部分。

最後,由於每個學生的教育需要都有所不同,有可能需要一套獨特的讀寫障礙學習方法。因此,我們的讀寫障礙治療不僅能提高學生的學習能力,同時還能提升他們的社交能力、執行能力和組織能力等。我們相信,通過有系統的讀寫障礙解決方法,所有的孩子都可茁壯成長,成為成功的自主學習者。

博雅思所設計的讀寫障礙解決方法及課堂,最初旨在幫助香港有需要的學生。我們的創始人陳卓琪女士也是一名讀寫障礙學習者,從小就在學習中苦苦掙扎,她觀察到香港有讀寫障礙的學生經常被忽略,往往只能依靠讀寫障礙補習,而學校對他們的幫助亦有限。因此,我們設計了包含不同讀寫障礙訓練方法的課堂,來幫助有需要的學生找到合適的學習方法。

多年來,我們為不同的學校及團體提供大大小小的私人及公眾讀寫障礙治療服務。我們的服務對象不僅僅是提供學生讀寫障礙學習方法,還有教師和父母。除了有需要的孩子可以通過讀寫障礙訓練得到改善,有其他特殊困難的孩子,如自閉症、過度活躍症和語言障礙等,亦可以從我們提供的讀寫訓練中得到改善。近年,我們觀察到除了香港的學生外,海外學生的讀寫障礙訓練的需求也越來越大。我們的讀寫障礙治療服務亦擴展至加拿大和澳門等地區,為海外學生提供讀寫訓練。而且在我們的讀寫訓練過程中,我們不僅會向學生教授讀寫障礙學習方法及策略,還會引導他們將複雜的概念分拆為更小、更容易理解的内容。即使海外學生的學校課程與香港的不同,但只要孩子們掌握了這些讀寫障礙訓練方法,都可以將這些技巧應用於自己的學習中,從而提升學習表現。

我們的讀寫障礙訓練主要以面對面形式授課,目前亦提供網上模式,以支援海外學童的需求。我們網上課堂的互動性高,以遊戲及活動的方式幫助學生們更投入地參與讀寫訓練。當學生在學校遇到他們難以理解的問題或概念時,我們可以幫助辨別他們在學習上的困難,並教授他們讀寫障礙訓練方法解決學習上的問題。

我們盡最大努力為來自不同背景、有不同學習需要的孩子提供讀寫障礙解決方法。與讀寫障礙功課輔導的模式不同,我們希望通過提供他們所學的必要技巧,使讀寫障礙學生能夠接受高等教育並達至理想的人生目標。

Our Dyslexia Hong Kong Centre Believes

If the children do not learn the way we teach, we teach the way they learn.

What Makes Our Dyslexia Training Special

Personal Experience

The founder of Boaz Education has known about her Dyslexia for years, and her experience has made her fully understand the learning obstacles for students with dyslexia in Hong Kong.

Learning Strategies

Unlike dyslexia tutoring, there is no drilling. The innovative and strength-based learning strategies motivate and provide alternative ways for students to learn during dyslexic treatment in Hong Kong.

Dyslexic-Tailored Curriculum

The dyslexia training Hong Kong curriculum is designed to fit for the particular learning needs of students. Every topic in the curriculum is interlinked systematically, which was recognised by schools and can be applied to the school curriculum.

Teaching Approach

Within 1.5-2 years as a key stage, we facilitate students with dyslexia in Hong Kong to build the puzzle from bits to a full picture, from foundation to equip learning strategies and become independent learners.

0
Students Served
0
School Programmes we provided
0
Educational Therapists we trained
0
Teachers Trained
0
Parents and Teachers we trained

Words from Parents and Schools

b66028_5b152729b477433e98634d17828f32be_mv2
For Children
One-to-one dyslexia support, dyslexia treatment services, dyslexia assessment, and talent program.
For Schools

In-school programs about learning strategies, therapies, and social groups.

For Teachers
Professional development training and workshops about dyslexia for school teachers.
For Parents
Training and workshops for parents about better understanding the needs of a dyslexia child.

Our Awards

DBS Foundation Grant 2019 Awardee

Boaz International Education Institute

HSBC Youth Business Award 2016

Gold medal

Advisory & Grant Making for 4 Social Enterprises

First Prize (HKUST) 2019

Community Compassionate Figure of the Year 2016

Ms Twiggy Chan (HK01)

Corporate Responsibility Award 2017

(We Like Hong Kong - Work Hard Will Win Awards)

Top Ten SME Customer Service Excellence Award 2017

Hong Kong Association for Customer Service Excellence

Entrepreneur Day - Outstanding Start-up Award 2016

(HKFYG and HKTDC)

HKACE Customer Service Excellence Award 2016

Hong Kong Productivity Council and Hong Kong Association for Customer Service Excellence

Innovative Entreprenrur Award & My Favourite Award

JCI City 2017

2017 Hong Kong Professional Elite Ladies Selection

(JCI City Lady)

Collaboration Partners / Service Providers / Supporters / Sponsors:

Frequently Asked Questions:

Dyslexia in Hong Kong is a common learning disorder which affects one in every ten school-aged children. According to empirical academic studies, those who have experienced learning obstacles were primarily due to a low working memory capacity which is mainly ancestral. Most of them show low performance in language learning including reading, writing, and spelling. Calculation related difficulties can also be seen in children with dyslexia in Hong Kong. Besides children with dyslexia, some children are diagnosed to be comorbid, which is a situation where two or more conditions co-exists. Co-occurrence of special learning disorders further adds to the academic obstacles of children. As a result, they needed support and to receive dyslexia training Hong Kong services to improve their condition.  

Dyslexic children display difficulty in planning and organising. They struggle more in learning, as compared to same aged children and may often result in lower academic performance. This weakens their motivation and concentration towards learning. Therefore, it is common for mainstream schools and parents to seek dyslexia tutoring to help the child boost their academic performance. Although the dyslexia training in Hong Kong aimed to focus on supporting children with dyslexia, it helps children to catch up with their school curriculum through constant drilling such as providing worksheets and tutorial classes. Many parents would agree that dyslexia tutoring can help their child improve within a short period of time yet, the underlying learning needs of the child have not been met.

Although dyslexia is an inherited condition and could not be treated medically, Boaz believes that by providing dyslexic treatment in Hong Kong for children can help them grow and improve their ability to learn as well as their quality of life. We provide dyslexia training in Hong Kong according to each child’s individual needs and not dyslexia tutoring as we believe that it is important that the learning obstacles of the child are identified before any intervention can be implemented. Therefore, the dyslexia training in Hong Kong that we provide is tailor-made for each child to ensure that they can attain learning strategies, self-advocacy skills and motivation to become an independent learner. Drilling method utilised by dyslexia tutoring in Hong Kong may be effective to some students yet, the child’s understanding of the concept and learning needs are overlooked. 

We have developed our own dyslexia training Hong Kong curriculum which has proved to be effective in helping children with dyslexia to understand learning concepts. We emphasise the importance of dyslexia training in Hong Kong. rather than dyslexia tutoring, as we believe that children learn in different ways and if the children do not learn the way we teach, we teach the way they learn. By equipping them with the learning skills, we hope that our students could thrive and become independent learners. 

According to research conducted by the Hong Kong Specific Learning Difficulties research team, the prevalence rate of children with dyslexia in Hong Kong is approximately 9.7% to 12.6%. The International Dyslexia Association has defined dyslexia as a specific disability that is neurobiological in origin. In other words, dyslexia is a reading disorder that is genetically inherited and currently, there is no medical treatment to cure this condition.

In Hong Kong, dyslexic treatment is supported in schools by SEN teachers, outsource qualified professionals such as occupational therapists and educational psychologists, and other non-profit organisations. Dyslexic treatments in Hong Kong often include providing intensive learning support or additional dyslexia tutoring classes to help children with learning disorders to build up their literacy skills. However, the children may continue to struggle in learning in spite of undertaking dyslexia tutoring as their underlying learning needs have not been resolved.

Despite the fact that dyslexia is an inherited condition and could not be treated medically, Boaz believes that children with such disorders can improve through dyslexic treatment in Hong Kong. Therefore, we have developed a dyslexic treatment Hong Kong curriculum that adapted the Davis dyslexia program and Orton-Gillingham Approach (OG Approach) and could cater for dyslexic children’s learning. Our tailor-made dyslexia training Hong Kong program differs from mainstream dyslexia tutoring centres, as our dyslexia training Hong Kong program focuses on the whole-person development rather than satisfying the needs of homework and exams. Our dyslexia Hong Kong centre aims to equip our students to become independent learners by teaching them different learning strategies and guide them to apply the skills to their own learning. 

The strategies developed in our dyslexia training Hong Kong program combines three strategies – visual, auditory and kinesthetic. Visual cue is one of the elements we use in our dyslexia training with Hong Kong children. For example, it is common in dyslexic children that they display mirroring letters such as ‘b’ and ‘d’. Instead of repetitive learning in dyslexia tutoring to differentiate the letters, we turn these letters into pictures or use hand gestures to help raise their awareness of the differences between mirroring letters. Apart from letter learning, we also apply visualisation strategies in more complex and concepts for children with dyslexia in Hong Kong to learn. For example, when we teach the concept of subject and object pronouns, students often have difficulty differentiating these two types of pronouns. Instead of learning the concept by rote like in dyslexia tutoring, we first guide them to understand the relationship of the two types of pronoun with the verb. Then, we use picture cues to help represent the position of these two types of pronoun in relation to the verb. Apart from visual cues, we also encourage our children to learn through hands-on activities and games. We believe that students learn better when they are able to experience during dyslexic treatment in Hong Kong. We don’t drill our students but rather we adopt methods that are more favourable to them, such as board games, drawing and even with clay. The key of our dyslexia training Hong Kong curriculum is that whenever our children learn, they must be presented with an overview of the topic they are going to learn. In this way, the children can keep track of their own learning and identify what they can or cannot do.

Last but not least, special educational needs vary among different children and so, our dyslexic treatment in Hong Kong not only trains children’s learning ability but also, their social skills, executive functioning skills, and organisational skills, etc. We believe that through systematic dyslexia training in Hong Kong, all kids could thrive and become independent learners.

The curriculum developed by Boaz was initially targeted to help children with dyslexia in Hong Kong since our founder, Ms. Twiggy Chan, was also a dyslexic learner and has struggled in learning since a young age. She observed that the needs of the children with dyslexia in Hong Kong are neglected and support for them was limited. Therefore, we developed our own dyslexic treatment in Hong Kong with different training methods to help improve the learning of dyslexic children. 

We have served different groups across the years both privately and publicly. Our targeted clients are not just students but also teachers and parents. Not only those children with dyslexia can improve with dyslexia training in Hong Kong, but children with other special learning disorders such as ASD, ADHD and speech impairment also proved that they can benefit from the training we provide. In recent years, we have observed that apart from children with dyslexia in Hong Kong, there is an increasing need for dyslexia training for children living overseas. Our dyslexia training program started out in Hong Kong yet, we are currently extending our dyslexic treatment for children outside Hong Kong studying overseas such as Canada and Macau. We teach our students the learning strategies and help them to break down concepts into smaller achievable steps and by acquiring these methods, the child can then apply the skills to their own learning despite that their school curriculum is different from the one in Hong Kong.

Our dyslexia training in Hong Kong is mostly delivered face-to-face, however, we currently offer virtual classes in order to cater the needs of children overseas. Our virtual classes are interactive and we would include games and activities to help children engage in our dyslexia training. When students come across topics or concepts in school that they struggle with, we can help them identify their learning needs and teach them the skills to help them apply the knowledge on their own.

We are doing our best to serve children with different learning needs from different backgrounds and by equipping them with the necessary skills, we hope to enable them to achieve higher education and reach their desirable goals in life.